Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Dystopian Pick: Enclave


Enclave
by Ann Aguirre
Feiwel and Friends (Macmillan)
2011
272 pages

Chilling, caustic, creepy, and cutting, Enclave will have fans of dystopian fiction turning pages at a rapid-fire pace.

In this barren post-apocalyptic dystopia, there are only three groups you can find yourself in: Builders, Breeders or Hunters. Deuce trains to be a Hunter and earns that right after fifteen years. Even in such an important role, Deuce finds it's hard to follow the code of the Enclave. Rules were meant to keep them all safe, but some rules are dangerous and Deuce knows if they are not broken, they could all die.

When paired with smoldering bad boy Fade, Deuce begins to question the rules; when they are both banished, Deuce must rely on Fade for everything, including her life. If they are going to get to safety and away from the Freaks, human-like but zombie-like beings that feed on humans, they are going to need more help.

Enclave is a dangerous thrill-ride and should have wide appeal to both boys and girls. Deuce makes for a great female--fierce almost super-hero. Fans of The Hunger Games and The Forest of Hands and Teeth will like this gritty and gruesome novel.

Highly recommended grade 8-up.
Violence, mention of Breeders--those whose sole job is to keep the species alive and to procreate.

FTC Required Disclaimer: I received the arc from the publisher. It was originally titled Razorland and had a very different cover. I did not receive monetary compensation for this review.

No comments:

Post a Comment