Monday, November 17, 2014

Thriller Pick: Black Ice

Black Ice
by Becca Fitzpatrick
Simon & Schuster BFYR
2014
392 pages
ISBN: 9781442474260

Watch the riveting book trailer

Taut, cutting, creepy and maddeningly unputdownable, Black Ice is a compelling YA thriller teens are not likely to forget! Fans of Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush series will not be disappointed. Black Ice is unlike the earlier series of books, but it's just as engrossing.

Britt Pfeiffer and her BFF ( and most of the time,  frenemy)  Korbie Versteeg are heading to Wyoming to Korbie's family's mountain getaway for a week of hiking and bonding. Korbie's older brother and best friend are joining them up at the cabin later. Britt laughs off Korbie's warnings about the disappearance of several girls in the nearby area. When the girls  are caught in a blinding  rain which soon turns to snow, the girls abandon the Jeep and hike to a nearby cabin. The cabin is inhabited by two not so friendly guys who grudgingly allow the girls to stay the night. Britt soon finds out that these guys are in trouble and hiding from the law. Now, she's determined to find an escape route for herself and Korbie. Britt is praying that Cal will find them before it's too late. He knows these mountains better than anyone, and Britt is lucky enough to have found a hand drawn map the he left behind. Using Cal's map, Britt decides to get Korbie and herself out of danger and off the mountain.

The blizzard shows no signs  of letting up. The men become increasingly dangerous and trigger happy. A gruesome discovery sets things in motion and the girls have to make their move. Mason (aka,  Jude) seems mysterious but not necessarily dangerous. Britt has to learn to trust someone but she's still waiting to be saved by old flame Cal.

Sometimes people are much more than they seem...and so much less.  As Britt struggles to save their lives, she uncovers morbid truths and a lifetime of lies.

Highly recommended grade 9 and up. Kidnapping, violence, murder, steamy kisses.

FTC Required Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. I did not receive monetary compensation for this review.


This review has been posted in compliance with the FTC requirements set forth in the Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising (available at ftc.gov/os/2009/10/091005revisedendorsementguides.pdf)








No comments:

Post a Comment