Monday, May 23, 2011

Paranormal Pick: Hereafter


Hereafter
by Tara Hudson
Harper Teen
2011
416 pages

Available June 7, 2011

This debut paranormal novel will thrill readers who liked Hush, Hush and Before I Fall. Amelia is lost--but there is one thing she knows for sure--she is dead. She doesn't remember anything but her first name and the fact that she drowned. She wanders aimlessly near a bridge and a river and finds herself forever dreaming of her drowning and walking in a spooky cemetary.

When she attempts to save a human boy from drowning in the same spot she died in--she finds that as a ghost, she can't save him because she can't feel him. She uses all her "spirit" (pun intended) to wish him to live, and he locks eyes with her and gets to the surface. Later, Joshua looks for the strange but beautiful girl who saved him.

Amelia realizes that Joshua is the only human who can see and hear her. She is thrilled to finally have some company--even if she is a ghost and he is a living, breathing human. The more time they spend together, Amelia begins feeling more human--she can feel a breeze and smell scents she never smelled as a spirit. Joshua and Amelia try to uncover her past and figure out how she died, but Joshua's grandmother is convinced that Amelia is a bad spirit and must be exorcised.

Romantic, sweet, and enjoyable, Hereafter will thrill paranormal romance readers.

Recommended grade 7-up. No language, no sex.

FTC Required Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. I did not receive monetary compensation for this review.

1 comment:

  1. ohhh, this sounds so good.I'm sure the kids will love this. It is just what they are reading.

    ReplyDelete